me, in a rather long nutshell.

Standard

I realize that, amidst all this extensive posting, I haven’t really taken much time to explain who I am.   Obviously, I’m not going to go into details (not because I’m paranoid, simply because, well, why would someone who will probably never meet me want to hear how old I am, my address, and my full name?  assuming nobody on wordpress is a villian (which I highly doubt) why would this be of ANY interest to them?) but I will, however, tell a little about myself.

My family consists of myself, my little brother, and my mom and dad.  Oh, and my cat–our cat–whose name is Juno.  It was between that and Olive when we first got her, but doesn’t Olive seem like such a melancholy name?  I mean, I guess if she was a wistful kind of cat who spent 2/3 of her time looking out the window and watching cars go by, then, sure, go for Olive, but Juno’s not like that.  Don’t get me wrong; she’s not the cuddly-cuddly type either.

Here’s what she is.  She weighs 3 pounds, about.  She’s black with huge, green eyes, white socks, and a white streak on her neck.  She likes to sleep sometimes, but most of all she likes dashing down the hallway, giving people head-rubs, climbing on my dad’s shoulder (ish), meowing when she sees birds outside.  I call her June for short, or Juneberry when I’m feeling mushy and affectionate.  My dad calls her Junie, my little brother calls her Juno Patrinski (for reasons that only the seven year old brain can comprehend, I guess) and my mom calls her Junes.

I live in a sort of boring neighborhood, so I won’t go to great extents to describe it.  It has rows of houses, some apartments, some townhouses, some student housing (because there’s a university in the neighborhood).  It’s nice to walk past some of the nicer houses, but in general the housing is pretty generic.

There’s a tiny little square called the Shopping Center which everyone knows is a big joke.  It’s a CVS, a supermarket, a liquor store, a crappy fried chicken place, and a hairdressers that shows Halloween window displays in December.

A couple blocks down is a park where my brother and my dad play baseball in the summer and spring, and an elementary school.  It’s a neighborhood school, but, well, I couldn’t be going anyway because I’m past elementary school, and my little brother’s not going because it’s not a good school.  We go to an (overpriced) supposedly elite private school, which I like but don’t love.  I can’t testify this because, aside from the year I spent in Germany in first grade, I’ve never been to any other schools, but it seems as though the group of teachers is a mix like you’d find in any other school.  I’ve had great teachers, okay teachers, conventional and annoying teachers.

Well, there you have it.  A small picture of my kind of boring neighborhood.  Hopefully, my posts-to-come will explain more about myself, and I won’t have to post self-obsessed stuff like this.  Not that I have to.  Anyway.

Have a nice week!

-talesfromtheflatlands

About talesfromtheflatlands

hm. how to start...? i'm a middle schooler caught in the middle of typical dramas and trying to balance work, friends, disorganization, and all that good stuff. yeah. enough said on that front... i live in a somewhat boring neighborhood in a somewhat interesting city chock-full of chain stores and odd buildings. i have a brother, parents, and a cat, and (not to be forgotten) a rag doll. i love tea, hot chocolate (see my blog for my recipe), collages, creative writing, bake sales, dystopian novels, Jane Eyre, Glee, Top Chef All-Stars (vehemently cheering on Antonia...), snickerdoodles, The Beatles, old movies, chatting with books falling out of my arms on the way to class, debates, and education reform. the list goes on... well? what about you? great to meet you, whoever's reading this... have a nice rest of day. -talesfromtheflatlands

2 responses »

  1. What a nice summary! I have been tempted to do so myself, but then got scared and had to write about the weather or something. I think it’s a nice picture of, well, your daily kid. That could be nice to know.

  2. Haha i like the part about the Shopping Center. You’ve said exactly what I always think when I walk by it. It’s so pathetic.

Leave a Reply

