insert something really witty and smart right HERE

Standard

Hey y’all.  Wow.  I really haven’t posted in awhile, and it’s kinda sad because I’ve started all these posts, and I’ve gotten reallyreally far, but then…but then…..

a) they’ve been randomly deleted.  which puts me in a mood, because i’m really mad at the computer, which is frusturating because i have nothing to take out my quivering, intense rage on.

b) i’ve gotten lazy.  a common excuse, but a good one.

c) i’ve decided that my writing’s just not going in the direction i want it to and why post what’s the point I’M NEVER GOING TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE why don’t i just go and eat something and read a book.  Don’t know where that came from, but it happens.

So yeah.  Apologies for lack of posting.  I have pictures!  Pictures from my now-seems-so-far-off trip, which by the way involved lots of hiking, both of the urban and buggy, natural varieties, markets, eating, food, eating, drinking hot chocolate, reading little bits of Jane Eyre painfully slowly and never actually finishing it, eating, food, frantic clicking of the iPhone camera, SuferDudeCulture, HipPeopleCulture, HipSurferDudeCulture, and meeting people randomly who turned out to be supercool, and remembering them, like, SO distinctly even though I’ll probably never see them again.  Is that, like, mental-stalking?  I wonder if they remember us at all.

Like there was this one time

when we were at this beach…. and sorry about the sudden, random rush of photos, by the way: they actually have basically nothing to do with the story I’m telling right now, except for the fact that they were taken on the same trip or something?  Yeah, I dunno, just enjoy the pix and imagine the story.  This sounds really corny, sorry: I think I’m in an in-between writing phase, and I hate it when that happens.  I’ll be thinking I’m going to affect this talky, effortless, don’t-care tone, and then I’ll suddenly give up and be a delicate-trying so hard to be articulate-random-amateur blogger.  But anyway.  We were at this beach, and there was a whole shore of driftwood.  It was really cool, and I seriously wish I’d risked, y’know, destroying my phone and taken it along secretly and taken some pictures.  But really, it was like something from one of those beautiful Hayao Mizaki anime movies.  Mystical and detailed and really there.  So some people had probably spent like a day building this beautiful little house out of driftwood, or maybe they started and got tired and just left this sad unfinished hut there on the shore, and then some bored couple might’ve been so depressed just at the sight of it that they finished it.  There was a gross, dirty pillow inside the house, which some scrawny kid too big to lift up any driftwood might’ve left as “their contribution” or something, and people had done a mini fireplace with tiny stones, and path, and a bed, and table….

So my brother and I, inspired by the idyllic aura of the place, or maybe looking for something to do, or maybe trying to go along with the movie-feel of the whole thing and be the cute, excited siblings, expanded on the mini-fireplace that was already there and built a real fireplace.  Not that I know anything about how to build a fireplace, but it looked kinda right, and anyway, it wasn’t like anyone was gonna use it, right?  *coughs symbolically, attempts a really discreet wink and ends up with a really annoying, obvious giggle and a slow-motion eye-open-eye-close instead of a brief payattentionthisisimportantbutdon’tpayTOOmuchattentionbecauseIwantittobeasurprise. *

In other words, of course this nice, handsome couple discovered our “magical fireplace” and decided it’d be the perfect spot for their fire.  So they, being the awesomely rugged type, (unlike us, the stay-in-a-hotel-and-think-about-reading-a-book-about-the-awesomely-rugged-type-type) actually fixed the fireplace and arranged some wood and started to light it up.  My brother was all like we’re keeping it a secret, which I’ll admit was kind of cliche and fun.  The couple was so nice and innocent and sweet, and the woman was like, “It’s as if some magical being just made this little fireplace just for us!” and my parents and my brother and I chatted with them for awhile until it was time to go, because our parking permit was about to run out of time.  My dad, just as we were leaving, told them that, “Hey, guys, it wasn’t a magical being who lit this fire!  It was our kids!”

And everyone got their fair share of tra-la! and ha-ha!  and wouldn’t-ya-know!  and thanks, guys!  it sure is a small world, and we all lived happily ever after.

Hope you enjoy the pictures.  I’m super-tired from like a week of staying up really late, so I’m going to wrap this post up with a list of stuff I’ll talk about in greater detail in the future (maybepossibly probably not which is why i’m including the list) that I should’ve talked about in this post.

-I’m reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower right now and it’s really REALLY evocative and strange and amazing.

-I made my first batch of hot chocolate the other day, and it came out really creamily and well.

-School!  Is fine.  I’m doing the fall play with some friends, everything feels strangely normal, I’m liking being back in the flow, etc.

-I’m trying to create a zine.

-Rookie, which is Tavi Gevinsons site for teenage girls, is officially my bible.

Bye!!!  Um, I’ll try to post again soon, and sorry if this comes out with an awkward ten-at-night kind of confusedness.

-talesfromtheflatlands

About talesfromtheflatlands

hm. how to start...? i'm a middle schooler caught in the middle of typical dramas and trying to balance work, friends, disorganization, and all that good stuff. yeah. enough said on that front... i live in a somewhat boring neighborhood in a somewhat interesting city chock-full of chain stores and odd buildings. i have a brother, parents, and a cat, and (not to be forgotten) a rag doll. i love tea, hot chocolate (see my blog for my recipe), collages, creative writing, bake sales, dystopian novels, Jane Eyre, Glee, Top Chef All-Stars (vehemently cheering on Antonia...), snickerdoodles, The Beatles, old movies, chatting with books falling out of my arms on the way to class, debates, and education reform. the list goes on... well? what about you? great to meet you, whoever's reading this... have a nice rest of day. -talesfromtheflatlands

3 responses »

  1. Pictures – amazing! Sometimes I wish I could secretly take pictures of all the people I see on trips… I suppose that’d be a more extreme version of mental stalking? ANYWAY, yeah, Rookie is officially my bible as well. It’s all anyone needs.

  2. Dear talesfromtheflatlands,
    I want to start my own blog but I’m not sure what to call it, what the theme should be, or how to ask my parents. how did you decide what to call yours, and how did you ask your parents?
    thanks,
    liz

Leave a Reply

