photo-post

Standard

 

Um, hi.  This is kind of a weird post: a photo set with random, obnoxious explanations that I felt a strange need to include.  I went out to the park a week or so ago with two friends, and we took a bunch of pix.  There are lots more, but here are some nice, fall-ish ones with semi-distinct moods.  Enjoy!

 

Staticky nature tv.

Cover of a murder mystery.

This one (above) reminds me of that scene in…I think it was the first episode of Twin Peaks, where the police are looking at kind of kitchy videos of Laura Palmer and her friend Donna at a picnic, outside.  It’s really eerie, though, because Laura was just found dead, and she looks so HAPPY and innocent in these videos.

There’s something about this one that’s resolutely not-creepy.   Maybe it’s the blurry-ness vs. the grainy-ness.  Or maybe it’s the lighting.  But this one seems to be more kids-playing-at-the-park-esque.  And I like that.

(starting to get darker, everything’s pleasantly blurry and tilted….)


The three of us, in SHADOW.  (evil laugh).

I’ve never really done this kind of photography before, and it was super fun.  We felt so, I dunno, exciting, I guess, telling each other to run around in circles or jump off a bench and then snap a bunch of frenzied pics.  By the way, not all of these photos are taken by me!  Some are taken by my fantastic friends, E and Z: both really awesome photographers.  All photos taken with my trusty iPhone camera.

Later, my friends and I turned the photos (there are lots more) into a slideshow, with the song Sophia by Laura Marling playing.

It just seemed to fit these photos really well.  My mom and I tried out lots of different songs later, but Sophia seemed to be the best.

Some more calming, kind of bittersweet songs:

 

 

 

 

I discovered the site happy 2 b sad while reading a collection of book/zine reviews on Tavi Gevinson’s site for teenage girls, Rookie.  The happy 2 b sad drawings are really interesting and a lot of times ring true.  So yeah.

-talesfromtheflatlands

 

About talesfromtheflatlands

hm. how to start...? i'm a middle schooler caught in the middle of typical dramas and trying to balance work, friends, disorganization, and all that good stuff. yeah. enough said on that front... i live in a somewhat boring neighborhood in a somewhat interesting city chock-full of chain stores and odd buildings. i have a brother, parents, and a cat, and (not to be forgotten) a rag doll. i love tea, hot chocolate (see my blog for my recipe), collages, creative writing, bake sales, dystopian novels, Jane Eyre, Glee, Top Chef All-Stars (vehemently cheering on Antonia...), snickerdoodles, The Beatles, old movies, chatting with books falling out of my arms on the way to class, debates, and education reform. the list goes on... well? what about you? great to meet you, whoever's reading this... have a nice rest of day. -talesfromtheflatlands

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

